#RPGaDAY2015 Day 7 – Favorite Free RPG

Day 7 – Favorite Free RPG

There aren’t really a ton of free RPGs out there, come to think of it. Sure, there’s Stars Without Number, C.J. Carella’s Witchcraft, a bunch of OSR games, and a few other things I haven’t played. d6 and d20 are both “free” in  that their open game licenses are core rules are freely available online, so I guess they count, but as much as I enjoy them I’m not sure they’re all the way up to being “favorites” yet. Same thing with D&D 5’s Basic Rules, which comes a bit closer.

Star Frontiers is near the top of the pack, but I haven’t actually played it—I have used its material as an inspiration mine, though. ICONS is another wroth mentioning, though the original edition had some balance issues and required a lot of kludging to be more than just a short pickup game.

So I’d have to go with Fate Core, because it’s easily the best “free game” out there that I’ve played, and I know because I’ve played it extensively.

The versatility and flexibility of the system is mind-boggling, as its its adaptability to whatever setting or genre you want. I’m not sure I see the point of “generic” or “universal” systems any more, since nine times out of ten they don’t feel actually adaptable to more than one genre. Anyways, Fate Core rolled out as a pay-what-you-want model, so you can snag the rules for free off the publisher’s website. And if you enjoy the system, you can look into buying a copy of Fate Worlds or Dresden Files or something.

rpgaday2015

(And for “favorite free RPG I have not yet played,” look at most of John Harper’s stuff, specifically Lasers & Feelings and Lady Blackbird.)


One thought on “#RPGaDAY2015 Day 7 – Favorite Free RPG

  1. Honestly I think there are a ton of free RPGs out there, but most of them are not publicized particularly well.

Leave a Reply

