#RPGaDAY2015 Day 5 – Recent Acquisitions

Day 5 – Most Recent RPG Purchase

*cracks knuckles*

So, I didn’t go to GenCon this year. I’d thought long and deeply about it, but in the end decided not to; on the bright side, if I decide to go next year I should have enough frequent flyer miles and Marriott reward points to comp some of the trip. Instead, I took a chunk of my GenCon budget and used it to pick up a couple of Kickstarters I’m really intrigued by. Also used some to fill a few holes in my collection, which are products already on hand:

  • Force and Destiny: ’nuff said. New, shiny, and expensive!
  • Monster of the Week: Coming off of a meh experience running Hunter (due to the players, not the rules), and being a big fan of *World, this seemed a necessary pickup. Combine Buffy or Supernatural with Dungeon World and this is pretty much it. Another game that I’m not quite jonesing to run since I don’t have any long-term campaign ideas, but if someone asked me to run a pickup game I’d do so gladly.
  • Dresden Files RPG – Paranet Papers: I haven’t had time to dig very far into this tome, but the material I saw looks amazing. Also, congrats Lenny, you finally beat Starblazer Adventures in terms of page count… it only took three books to do it.
  • Numenera Ninth World Guidebook: I snagged this for a criminal $12.50, and have gleaned inspiration from it in droves. I’m seriously thinking that Numenera will be the next game I’ll try to run, though Dresden is also a sore temptation.
  • Fly Casual and Stay On Target: Not that I’m playing either a smuggler or an ace, but these are good to have for the ships, races, gear, and other good stuff. They are a bit pricey for 90-page hardsplats, but the quality is top-notch, and I have a source that sells them for a decent rate on eBay.
  • D&D 5th Edition Monster Manual: I was hesitant to pick up 5e books beyond the PHB, because reasons. But I’m playing a druid every other Friday and was getting tired of borrowing MM’s to see what my wildshape stats are. The art and layout is better than the last two editions’ MM’s, and I’m still enjoying the new rules.
  • D&D 5th Spell Decks: Another item I’ve been borrowing but liked enough to pick up my own. Gale Force Nine has a winner on their hands, probably why they’re out of stock everywhere. Their second edition of the decks includes previously missing cards and data, and now have less-sharp rounded corners, and they’re back-ordered just about everywhere. Another internet haul, I found all seven decks set sold as a lot. Combined with a $15 gift card, I picked them all up for a nice $60.
  • Carrion Crown Adventure Path #4-6: I only had half the path for some reason, and was missing the last three modules. While the finale module is hit or miss (per many of my friends), #4 has the Lovecraftian bestiary, and #5 is adventures in vampire town. eBay pickups for around MSRP, which isn’t bad considering the first four modules are skyrocketing in price.
  • Witch Hunter – The Invisible World, 2nd Edition: I always liked the idea of running a game of swashbuckling horror in the Age of Enlightenment—colonial gothic ala Brotherhood of the Wolf—and this is very much a game that fits that mold. So I decided to pick up the second idea on a whim. I was a bit surprised to find the system is “I can’t believe it’s not White Wolf,” but there’s a lot to like here.
  • Thousand Correct Actions of the Upright Soldier: I’d forgotten that this Exalted supplement wasn’t just released as a .pdf, and after finding a print copy it was natch added to my complete-ish Exalted collection. I have fond memories of our many Dynast campaigns, so a Dragon Blooded supplement that’s military-heavy is just inspiration fuel for the fire.
  • Another set of Star Wars dice, and and Adversary Deck (Scum & Villainy): I was at the store, we were playing it, and I’m getting tired of having to borrow dice because the core set is short. The adversary deck was an impulse buy, but I like the versatility of having a bunch of EotE adversaries on hand, and our GM has been using them quite well.

rpgaday2015

 


Leave a Reply

