30 Days of TV – Day 25

Day 25 – A show you plan on watching (old or new)

Let me take a look at my Netflix queue…

Motorcycle gang vigilantism from the guy who did The Shield, with Ron Freaking Perlman and Katey Sagal. I’ve heard some good things about the show, and Netflix seems to think I’ll like it. Once I get done mucking about, this will probably be the first thing I start to power through.

The X-Files. Loved this show when it was on the air, but I didn’t get into it until after the movie, after Mulder was gone, when it was mostly Doggett and Scully. For years I’ve been meaning to watch the early seasons so I don’t feel so left out.

30 Rock. One of a million shows I thought sounded interesting but didn’t watch because I was too busy in college to get into it. Of course, my interest was piqued after Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin started getting award nominations… but mostly because Fey was on SNL parodying a certain Alaskan governor. (Yes, I made time to watch a lot of SNL. And far too much stand up comedy in the rec center waiting for the campus worker drones to put a DVD on.)

Farscape. File this one under “show that looked cool that I never watched and now people tell me I should have watched years ago.” Just like Stargate SG-1. I was a little burned on SG-1, but when Ben Browder was brought it, SG-1 got a breath of fresh air and really took off again. (I might be the only person on earth who think Browder was a better lead, but by that time, Richard Dean Anderson was playing Richard Dean Anderson instead of General O’Neill, and the show needed a jump-start.) Browder, of course, was brought on because Farscape ended, and his job on SG-1 managed to get me interested in Farscape.

Rescue Me, as I still need to catch up on all the seasons I missed (from 3 all the way to the most recent ones). I ended up really liking the show, even though it’s a downer: the show makes unlikable people likable, so despite their flaws, you actually feel for them when bad things happen. Season 1 was full of depressing downers for Denis Leary; Season 2 features all the other characters you know and love getting cornholed by the universe. Thus, don’t watch if you’re squeamish, or don’t like depressing shows, or otherwise don’t like seeing “asshole” used as a term of endearment.

I could point to a dozen other hows—more if I include anime—but I feel these are the ones most worthy of mentioning.

Spoiler/Preview/Recap:
Day 01 – A show that should have never been canceled – Jericho
Day 02 – A show that you wish more people were watching – Fringe
Day 03 – Your favorite new show (aired this TV-season) – Game of Thrones
Day 04 – Your favorite show ever – Battlestar Galactica (2004)
Day 05 – A show you hate – various micro-rants
Day 06 – Favorite episode of your favorite t.v show – The Oath/Blood on the Scales
Day 07 – Least favorite episode of your favorite t.v show – Black Market
Day 08 – A show everyone should watch – Better Off Ted
Day 09 – Best scene/episode ever – Out of Gas
Day 10 – A show you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving – NCIS
Day 11 – A show that disappointed you – Heroes
Day 12 – A TV show you’ve watched more than 4 times – Robotech
Day 13 – Favorite childhood show – Talespin
Day 14 – Favorite male character – The Doctor
Day 15 – Favorite female character – Laura Roslin
Day 16 – Your guilty pleasure show – Top Gear
Day 17 – Favorite mini series – Band of Brothers
Day 18 – Favorite title sequence – Rescue Me
Day 19 – Best t.v show cast – Firefly
Day 20 – Favorite kiss – Adama and Roslin, Galactica, The Oath
Day 21 – Favorite relationship – William Adama and Laura Roslin
Day 22 – Best pilot episode – Battlestar Galactica
Day 23 – Most annoying character – a whole helluva lot
Day 24 – Best quote – Ray Person, Generation Kill
Day 25 – A show you plan on watching (old or new) – Sons of Anarchy
Day 26 – OMG WTF? Season finale
Day 27 – Favorite series finale
Day 28 – First t.v show obsession
Day 29 – Current t.v show obsession
Day 30 – Saddest character death


Leave a Reply

